

ICMH André Corvisier Prize for Ph.D. Theses in Military History VI edition – 2022

1. The International Commission of Military History awards the "André Corvisier Prize for Ph.D. theses in Military History", named after the distinguished French scholar who served for ten years as President and later as President of Honour of ICMH (http://www.icmh-cihm.org/en/).

2. The Ph.D. degree can be awarded in any academic discipline and is not restricted to Military History only. However, the thesis must deal with Military History in the broadest sense: the history of warfare, military campaigns, the armed forces, military thought and philosophy, diplomatic aspects of conflicts, causes and effects of wars, defence economics, civil-military relations, military technology, military leadership, and demographics of military forces. To be eligible, applicants must come from a country where there is an ICMH National Commission or, if there isn't one, they must apply and be accepted as ICMH Individual Affiliate Scholars.

3. For the 2022 edition, the prize will be awarded for a Ph.D. thesis approved in **2021** at a recognized university. The amount of the Prize is fixed at \notin 3,000 plus a maximum of \notin 1,500 to cover the recipient's expenses for participation at the award ceremony during the XLVII ICMH Congress in August-September 2022.

4. Candidates must send a scanned certificate of their Ph.D. degree, a *curriculum vitae*, and a PdF copy of their thesis to ICMH Vice President, Dr. Harold E. Raugh Jr. (INFFAOHER7@aol.com) before 31st Jan 2022.

5. The thesis may be in any language; however, a translation in any of the ICMH official languages (English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish) is required if the language employed is different. This applies also to the scanned certification of the Ph.D. title and to the *curriculum vitae*.

6. The Prize will be awarded by a Jury of seven persons, chaired by the ICMH President and including the members of the ICMH Executive Board and the President and the Secretary of the ICMH Educational Committee. With the approval of the ICMH President, members of the Jury unable to participate may designate a substitute. The Jury may decide not to award the Prize if no thesis is considered worthy or may decide to award it *ex aequo* to two doctors, dividing the amount of money. The Jury's decisions are taken by simple majority; in case of parity of votes the President's vote determines the decision.

7. The winner will be required to write an article drawn from his thesis to be published in the *International Journal of Military History and Historiography*, after peer review.

8. Requests for any further information should be addressed to Dr. Raugh.

The President of the International Commission of Military History Massimo de Leonardis Professor (ret.) of History of International Relations and Institutions Department of Political Sciences of the Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore in Milan, Italy